Call of Duty: Black Ops logo

Know somebody who might be like this game?


Call of Duty: Black Ops is the seventh main Call of Duty game and the sequel to Call of Duty: World at War. The game differs from most previous installments, which would involve a usual three-country campaign, while Call of Duty: Black Ops features two playable countries (Russia and the USA) but only has an American campaign. Several new features are also introduced, such as dive-to-prone and the available use of a flashlight on certain weapons. Furthermore, the campaign's playable characters now speak while being controlled by the player.


Black Ops takes place between 1961 and 1968 during the Cold War, 16 years after the events of World at War. It portrays a secret history of CIA clandestine black operations carried out behind enemy lines. Much of the campaign is told through the eyes of SOG and CIA operative Alex Mason, primarily through flashbacks. Mason awakens strapped to a chair in a room filled with monitors, bombarded with questions by two unknown interrogators about a numbers broadcast. Mason then recalls several events from the past in an attempt to answer their questions, setting up the missions of the game.

Call of Duty: Black Ops Activation Instructions

Game Information

Release Date November 9, 2010
Publisher Activision, Square Enix, Treyarch, Aspyr Media, n-Space
Content Rated M (Mature)
Game Modes Single player, Multiplayer, Co-operative, Split screen
Player Perspectives First person
Genres Shooter
Themes Action, Horror, Survival, Historical, Warfare
Platforms Wii, PC (Microsoft Windows), PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Mac, Nintendo DS